Creating AS3 applications using XCode and mxmlc

8 04 2007

Yesterday I decided I’d spend my weekend trying to get my feet wet using Actionscript 3. Little did I know that it would be such an endeavor to get up and running.

First, I wanted to see what I could do using Apple’s XCode. I really like the XCode editor and environment and have used it to develop AS2 stuff in the past, so I figured someone had probably already built some templates for AS3 development. No such luck. I did find a rough starting point at Josh Buhler’s blog. Since I didn’t really want to play with Flex, but rather AS3, I started modifying his template to suit my purposes. I also wanted to take advantage of these language specs.

What I came up with is a custom xcode project template that starts me off with a default AS3 class and a simply directory structure. From there I modified the “build and run” command to open my published html/swf in Safari.

If anyone is interested in the template, drop me a comment or email and I’ll send it over. I’ll try to explain how to use it in another post if there is any interest.

Now.. on to experimenting with AS3!

Actions

Information

5 responses

12 06 2007
Poul Skovmand

I’m trying the same from Josh’s blog, but I fail. I would like to receive the template and I think (from googling around) there would be interest in a walk-through post – at least I would 🙂 Thanks!

14 06 2007
John Robinson

Poul –

I appologize.. I sent you the Flex template. I’m pretty sure though that it contains roughly the same stuff as the AS3 template (I haven’t touched the AS3 one since I started using Flex) so you should be able to get something working with that. If not, drop me a line and I’ll send you the AS3 template.

14 11 2007
Will

Hey John,

Nice work with all this stuff – definitely very helpful for me getting up and running. I’m wondering if you can answer a quick question I had about including 3rd party as3 libraries with xcode. I guess the question is: how do you do it? I’m basically looking for the equiv. of setting classpaths / sourcepaths like you would via the flash / flex builder IDE… thanks – if you don’t mind, shoot me an email? wc at hauntedcastle dot org

thanks again! – w

15 11 2007
Paul

Hei,

I was wondering if someone could help me a little with, i love to actionscript, and am on a mac … and dont want to shell out the cash for fdt right now. I have leopard osx, and xcode .. and i was hoping you could send me some template files and instructions to how to use them (am new to xcode (just downloaded it) .. many thanks

Best,
Paul

pholliday@mac.com

30 01 2008
JT

Hi, I did the same thing as you, although on leopard the language-files failed. I created new ones for xcode on leopard and create a script (based on someone work from someone else) to compile files with fsch so compilation is faster. Its still very messy, but maybe you can improve the ‘tools’ i made… I cant share it myself… If you want them, send me a message..

Leave a Reply

