RemoteNote – Update

5 04 2008

RemoteNote has gotten a major overhaul. We’re now at version 0.2.0!

Release Notes 0.2.0:

Bug Fixes:

  • Supports notes with single quotes (if you find other characters to cause issues, let me know)
  • Much better database interaction (no more undefined notes!)

Features:

  • Snappy editor powered by (TinyMCE
  • Editing is done in one single page

 

Known Issues:

  • Bonjour support. I thought this would be easy but as far as I’m able to find, bonjour isn’t available yet on the iphone. Rumor has it that it’s going to be available in the 2.0 firmware update. If anyone has more info I’d love to hear about it. UPDATE: “ipod.local” has been reported to work in some cases but I haven’t been able to get it to work.
  • Delete links do not work. It works in the NEXT (aka, not this one) release however 🙂
  • HTML is sometimes making it into the title and/or summary. For now, be careful that you don’t have any html in the first line or 2 of your notes. You can double-check this by clicking the ‘html’ button on the toolbar and simply deleting any html in the first few lines before saving your note. If you save a note, and it appears to be the only note in the list, don’t panic! Your notes are still there. Just go into the phone notes program and edit the note you just saved and all should be fine again. 
  • Lines are messed up in the iPhone ‘Notes’ app when viewing notes created/edited with RemoteNote
I wanted to give Chrys a huge thanks for coming up with the new icon and logo. You can find more of his iPhone iCandy here, or check out the screenshot of the new editor below.
RemoteNote Editor 0.0.3
Finally a huge thanks for all the support and feedback I’ve received so far! As usual, if you have any issues with the app or ideas that would make it better, let me know! 
Actions

Information

29 responses

5 04 2008
Jerry

Hi, Which repo can I get this? Please leave me a mail if possible.

Thank you.

5 04 2008
Jon Rune

bravo!

5 04 2008
Jon Rune

btw, when will it be ready for download?

5 04 2008
John Robinson

It should be available on Installer either tonight or tomorrow. If not I’ll post the zip so you can manually install it.

john

6 04 2008
joseph

Very nice app =)

6 04 2008
Jon Rune

john: you the man!!! this was perfect!

6 04 2008
Giles Hudson

I had problems with this version in both Internet Explorer 7 and Firefox 2 on Windows XP.

In Internet explorer no text is loaded into the editor window. In Firefox the editor toolbar does not display but text is loaded, with only an icon for the new button visible.

Can’t immediately see what the cause is in either case.

Works fine in Opera though!

6 04 2008
The Junk Monger

The Program will not run for me. On startup I get a Jiggy runtime error that says Javascript error uncaught exception: Failed to open database in at line 0
And when I try to connect with the browser another error pops up on iPhone
Failed to evluate /var/Applications/Remotenote.app/mainjs in at line 0
any help would be appreciated

6 04 2008
The Junk Monger

John contacted me and He helped me resolve the problem. Basically i just needed to give 777 permissions to the notes database found here /User/Library/Notes/notes.db and all works well Just thought i’d post this in case someone else has this problem.

Thanks again for a great program,
now if there was only a way to select all of the notes and back them up and a way to put them all back on after a restore, hmmm maybe it’s already there and I didn’t look hard enough.

6 04 2008
John Robinson

TJM –

That feature is not available as of yet, but it’s brilliant and I’ll do what I can to roll it into the next or at least a future update. How would you see that working?

John

6 04 2008
Noris

First, nice app, only problem is that the notes on the iphone dont appear on the line but popping outwards

6 04 2008
Jim

Great little app, John. Thanks.

I don’t know what’s providing the Bonjour support but I can access the ipod and edit notes using ipod.local:8088

A nit. Lines of text don’t quite end up on the lines on the page…. Like I said ‘a nit.’

Jim

6 04 2008
loloudoudara

@ Giles Hudson
Having the same exact problem with firefox and IExplorer
Haven’t tried opera.

6 04 2008
Nick

great app. i really wanted a way to edit the notes on my computer and you really solved the problem. I was wondering though, is the notes database like the address book database because if it is that would be awesome if you could make an app that could edit that also. thanks

6 04 2008
AMI

hi,

1 trivial bug. I think you need to have a meta tag meta to stipulate the encoding of the page to be UTF-8. Also when I open the page with firefox, the chinese characters in the content transformed to “?????” despite the subject (the firstline) showed up gracefully.

Anyway your little application is really great. Keep up ^_^

Rgds,
Anthony

6 04 2008
jenn

for some reason i’m unable to connect via safari on my mac. i’ve downloaded the app and jiggy runtime from installer, launched it, pointed my mac safari to the address but it says that it cannot connect to the server. any ideas? thanks

6 04 2008
jenn

Pls disregard above post. I solved it by reatarting both the phone and mac. Great app!

6 04 2008
John Robinson

AMI –
I’ll look into the UTF-8 stuff. Can you email me (jrobinso@nycap.rr.com) a screenshot of that behavior?

john

7 04 2008
Max59

Hi, unfortunately Safari on Imac doesn’t communicate to iphone what you write on remote editor online. Opera, on the contrary, works well.

7 04 2008
Jon

Ok, I’m having the same problem with IE 7 and RemoteNote. I can’t find the directories called “/User/Library/Notes/notes.db” referenced above.

Can someone be more specific about where the notes.db file should be found?

I found one at: /var/mobile/Library/Notes/notes.db and issued a “chmod -R 777 notes.db” command on that file, but no juice.

Please help!

– Thanx
– Jon

7 04 2008
Paul

This won’t work for me on IE 7 but it works great on Safari, so I don’t care. I’ll just use it thru Safari. Great app, I love it. I’ve been using it a lot since installing it.

7 04 2008
John Robinson

Just FYI, IE and Firefox are both supported in the next release!

8 04 2008
Thomas

The Interface is better now! Looks great and works fine with Firefox. 😉

12 04 2008
mrky

hi everybody… i keep getting error opening the database ….. i searched winscp for notes.db but i cant find it where it should be, i cant find it at all!!

8 05 2008
sailingaction

Reply to mrky.

You have to write a note first for the DB to be created on you Iphone. After that you can try and it will probably work. If not install Boss Prefs v.1.67 there you can fix permission without browsing through you file system on you Iphone. This utility is also handy for many other things.

sailingaction

Thanx is appreciated if it helped y…

17 05 2008
Nakimo

This is an amazing app. It looks and works great!

Is there any plan to support double byte chars for those in Asia and ME?

Thanks!

14 09 2008
Mark

Hi John – Any chances this is going to be ported to 2.x anytime soon? I just lost all my notes during the upgrade to iPhone firmware 2.1 (long story, but it happened) and the only backup I have is one from a few months ago that I did via SSH when I went from 1.1.4 to 2.0.2.

I can recover the text but retyping it all into notes again manually is going to be tedious. I used to have remotenote and thought it would come to the rescue again, but I can’t find it in any repository anywhere now!

2 11 2008
Ram

upgrade to iPhone firmware 2.x pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls, pls….

Thanks MUCH!

23 12 2008
Flug

The Interface is great!
It works fine with Firefox
thank u for sharing that with us
keep up your good work
I will be a regular reader of ur blog

Leave a Reply

